December 1, 2018

2018 Broyles Award

Career Highlights

Michael Locksley joined Nick Saban’s staff at The University of Alabama in January of 2017 as the Crimson Tide’s co-offensive coordinator and was promoted to offensive coordinator in February of 2018.

In 2017, Locksley coached the wide receivers, who combined to catch128 passes for 2,059 yards and 19 touchdowns led by First Team All-SEC selection Calvin Ridley. Ridley hauled in 63 passes for 967 yards and five touchdowns in his junior season. Cam Sims (14 catches for 207 yards) and Robert Foster (14 catches for 174 yards) also turned in solid years while the trio of true freshmen Jerry Jeudy (14 for 264 yards), DeVonta Smith (8 for 160 yards ) and Henry Ruggs III (12 for 229 yards and a team-high six touchdowns) provided a boost for the Crimson Tide.

Locksley spent the 2016 season on the Crimson Tide’s staff as an offensive analyst. He previously served as the interim head coach at the University of Maryland for the final six games of the 2015 season. Prior to that he served as the Terrapins offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach from 2012-15. Locksley also served as the head coach at the University of New Mexico from 2009-11.

Locksley, known for strong recruiting skills, was listed as a top-25 recruiter in the nation three different times (2003, 2005, 2006) and was a finalist for 2007 recruiter of the year by He also engineered top-10 recruiting classes during each of his two seasons (2003-04) as running backs coach and recruiting coordinator at the University of Florida.

Read More

Play Video

2018 Broyles Award - Speech and Career Highlights

Press Release

LITTLE ROCK, Ark.– [Dec. 4, 2018] – The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation announces Mike Locksley, Offensive Coordinator at Alabama, as the winner of the 23rd annual Broyles Award.

The 2018 Broyles Award finalists included:

  • Alabama – Mike Locksley, Offensive Coordinator
  • Army – Jay Bateman, Defensive Coordinator
  • Clemson – Jeff Scott, Co-Offensive Coordinator/WRs
  • Mississippi State – Bob Shoop, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
  • Notre Dame – Chip Long, Offensive Coordinator

The announcement of the 2018 Broyles Award winner on Tuesday, December 4that the Marriott Hotel.

Last year’s Broyles Award winner was Tony Elliott, co-offensive coordinator and running backs coach at Clemson. The Broyles Award honors college football’s top assistant coach. The award was established in 1996 to recognize legendary head football Coach Frank Broyles. Coach Broyles had a track record of producing some of the most successful assistant coaches in college football history.

Proceeds from the 2018 Broyles Award support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to provide education, support, and resources to Alzheimer’s caregivers. You can follow The Broyles Foundation on Facebook and Twitter.

Riceland Foods served as the presenting sponsor of the 2018 Broyles Award. Riceland is the world’s largest miller and marketer of rice with its products sold across the nation and to more than 75 foreign destinations.

About the Broyles Award

The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his almost two decades as head coach at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on Facebook and Twitter.

About the National College Football Awards Association

The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 699 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

About the Football Writers Association of America

The Football Writers Association of America, founded in 1941, consists of 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at

2018 Broyles Award Ceremony

Full 2018 Ceremony – Replay


Congratulations to all nominees, semifinalists, and finalists! Your hard work on and off the field makes the Broyles Award possible.

Thank You to our sponsors, volunteers, committee members, and staff. Through your donations, service, and sacrifice, the Broyles Award becomes an amazing experience for viewers and attendees every year.

Finally, a special Thank You to the Broyles Foundation for honoring the legacy of Coach Frank Broyles through nonprofit service. Both the Broyles Award and the Broyles Foundation exist as a testament to the passions that shaped his life and legacy.

2018 Broyles Award Finalists

2018 Broyles Award Finalists - Speeches and Career Highlights

Play Video

Jeff Scott

Play Video

Bob Shoop

Play Video

Chip Long

Play Video

Jay Bateman