July 2, 2015

About the Award

The Broyles Award

The Broyles Award was established in 1996 by Coach Frank Broyles and David Bazzel to recognize the impact assistant coaches have on college football. Coach Broyles’ legacy lives on, through the countless lives he impacted on and off the field, through the Broyles Foundation and their efforts to support Alzheimer’s caregivers at no cost, and through the Broyles Award nominees, finalists, and winners that continue to impact the world of college athletics and beyond.

Former recipients and nominees of the Broyles Award have accomplished the following:

  • 42 have become college or NFL head coaches
  • 45% have become head coaches
  • 26 are currently head coaches
  • Represent 20% of all current head coaches in Division 1 (FBS)
  • 8 have won ‘National Head Coach of the Year’ honors
  • 4 have coaches in national championship games as head coaches