November 5, 2018

2018 Semi-Finalists

The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation is pleased to announce the 15 semi-finalists for the 2018 Broyles Award.

From the list of 15, five finalists will be selected and invited to travel to Little Rock, Ark. where the 2018 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 4th at the Marriott Hotel.

Tim DeRuyter

Defensive Coordinator/Outside Linebackers, California

Jeff Scott

Co-Offensive Coordinator/Wide Receivers, Clemson

Bob Shoop

Defensive Coordinator/Safeties, Mississippi State

Chip Long

Offensive Coordinator, Notre Dame

David Yost

Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks, Utah State

Jake Spavital

Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks, West Virginia

The winner of the 2017 Broyles Award was Clemson’s co-offensive coordinator and running backs coach, Tony Elliott. Winners from the past five seasons are not eligible for the 2018 Broyles Award. For a list of all previous winners and finalists, visit the Broyles Award website

Proceeds from the 2018 Broyles Award support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to provide education, support, and resources to Alzheimer’s caregivers. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on Facebook and Twitter.

Riceland Foods will serve as the presenting sponsor of the 2018 Broyles Award. Riceland is the world’s largest miller and marketer of rice with its products sold across the nation and to more than 75 foreign destinations.

About the Broyles Award

The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his almost two decades as head coach at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on Facebook and Twitter.

About the National College Football Awards Association

The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 699 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

About the Football Writers Association of America

The Football Writers Association of America, founded in 1941, consists of 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at