SINCE 1996


Since 1996, the Broyles Award has maintained a strong relationship with the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA).

Coach Broyles’s relationship with the FWAA dates back to 1964, when they awarded him the Grantland Rice trophy for Arkansas’s National Championship win.

Today, the Broyles Award Selection Committee includes 27 national sports writers and broadcasters. These writers collaborate with our coaching committee members to curate and select the list of finalists and winners for each year’s award. The Broyles Award is a proud member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), the premier organization for collegiate football awards.

Keith Jackson and Frank Broyles (1976)


  • Bob Asmussen – Champaign News Gazette
  • Nicole Auerbach – The Athletic
  • Zach Barnett – Football Scoop
  • Mark Blaudschun- Boston Globe
  • Chip Brown –
  • Travis Brown – The Eagle
  • Chuck Carlton, Dallas Morning News
  • Heather Dinich – ESPN
  • Dennis Dodd, CBS Sports
  • Matt Fortuna – The Athletic, Current FWAA President
  • Mike Griffith – DawgNation
  • Wally Hall – Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
  • Dave Jones, PA Media Group
  • Jason Kersey, The Athletic
  • Doug Lesmerises –
  • Ivan Maisel – ESPN
  • Malcolm Moran – Sports Capital Journalism Program
  • George Schroeder – USA Today
  • Matt Sign – National Football Foundation
  • Phil Steele – Phil Steele Magazine
  • David Ubben – The Athletic
  • Chris Vannini, The Athletic
  • Jon Wilner – San Jose Mercury News