Selection Committee Narrows List to five

For Immediate Release

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. [December 2, 2019] – The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation is pleased to announce the 15 semi-finalists for the 2019 Broyles Award.

The Five Finalists Are:


BAYLOR – Phil Snow, Defensive Coordinator

GEORGIA – Dan Lanning, Defensive Coordinator

LSU – Joe Brady, Passing Game Coordinator/Wide Receivers

OHIO STATE – Jeff Hafley, Co-Defensive Coordinator/Secondary Coach

UTAH – Morgan Scalley, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties


The final five will travel to Little Rock, Ark. for the announcement of the 2019 Broyles Award winner on Tuesday, December 10th at the Marriott Hotel.

Last year’s Broyles Award winner was Alabama’s offensive coordinator, Mike Locksley. Winners from the previous five seasons are not eligible for the 2019 Broyles Award. Visit the Broyles Award website for the full list of previous finalists and winners.

Proceeds from the 2019 Broyles Award support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to provide a game plan through education, support, and resources to Alzheimer’s caregivers. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Riceland Foods will serve as the presenting sponsor of the 2019 Broyles Award. Riceland is the world’s largest miller and marketer of rice with its products sold across the nation and to more than 75 foreign destinations.

About the Broyles Award

The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his hall of fame career as head coach at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on Facebook and Twitter.

About the National College Football Awards Association

The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 699 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

About the Football Writers Association of America

The Football Writers Association of America, founded in 1941, consists of 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at [email protected]



David Bazzel
Executive Director, Broyles Award
(501) 258-8315
[email protected]

Carson Horn
The Communications Group
(501) 515-0849
[email protected]



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Explore Other Posts: