SINCE 1996

2023 Broyles Award Nominees


Honoring College Football’s Top Assistants for 28 Years



LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (November 14, 2023) – The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2023 Broyles Award, which honors college football’s top assistant coaches.

The 57 nominees in this year’s class were selected from approximately 1,500 assistant coaches representing 131 FBS programs across the country. The Broyles Award selection process includes the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), broadcasters, a college football hall-of-fame selection committee, and current college head coaches.

The nominees are:

  • AIR FORCE – Brian Knorr, Defensive Coordinator
  • ALABAMA – Tommy Rees, Offensive Coordinator/QB
  • APPALACHIAN STATE – Frank Ponce, Offensive Coordinator/QB
  • ARIZONA – Johnny Nansen, Defensive Coordinator
  • ARIZONA STATE – Brian Ward, Defensive Coordinator
  • ARKANSAS – Travis Williams, Defensive Coordinator/LB
  • BALL STATE – Tyler Stockton, Assistant Head Coach/ DC
  • BOSTON COLLEGE – Matt Applebaum, Offensive Line
  • BYU – Jernaro Gilford, Cornerbacks
  • CINCINNATI – Bryan Brown, Assoc. Head Coach/ DC
  • CLEMSON – Wes Goodwin, Defensive Coordinator/LB
  • COASTAL CAROLINA – Craig Naivar, Defensive Coordinator
  • COLORADO STATE – James Finley, Tight Ends
  • DUKE – Tyler Santucci, Defensive Coordinator/LB
  • FLORIDA STATE – Adam Fuller, Defensive Coordinator
  • GEORGIA – Mike Bobo, Offensive Coordinator/QB
  • GEORGIA SOUTHERN – Bryan Ellis, Offensive Coordinator/QB
  • GEORGIA TECH – Buster Faulkner, Offensive Coordinator/TE
  • IOWA – Phil Parker, Defensive Coordinator/Sec.
  • IOWA STATE – Jon Heacock, Defensive Coordinator
  • JAMES MADISON – Bryant Haines, Defensive Coordinator/LB
  • KANSAS – Jim Zebrowski, Quarterbacks
  • KANSAS STATE – Joe Klanderman, Defensive Coordinator/S
  • LOUISVILLE – Ron English, Defensive Coordinator
  • LIBERTY – Bill Durkin, Offensive Line Coach
  • LSU – Mike Denbrock, Offensive Coordinator/TE
  • MEMPHIS – Tim Cramsey, Offensive Coordinator
  • MIAMI – Lance Guidry, Defensive Coordinator
  • MICHIGAN – Sherrone Moore, Offensive Coordinator/OL
  • MISSOURI – Kevin Peoples, Defensive Line / Edge
  • NC STATE – Tony Gibson, Defensive Coordinator/LB
  • NEBRASKA – Tony White, Assoc. Head Coach/DC
  • NORTH CAROLINA – Chip Lindsey, Offensive Coordinator/QB
  • NORTH TEXAS – Drew Svoboda, Special Teams
  • NOTRE DAME – Al Golden, Defensive Coordinator/LB
  • OHIO – Spence Nowinsky, Defensive Coordinator/DE
  • OHIO STATE – Jim Knowles, Defensive Coordinator/LB
  • OKLAHOMA – Jeff Lebby, Offensive Coordinator/QB
  • OLE MISS – Pete Golding, Defensive Coordinator/LB
  • OREGON – Will Stein, Offensive Coordinator
  • OREGON STATE – Jim Michalczik, Assoc. Head Coach/Run Game/OL
  • PENN STATE – Manny Diaz, Defensive Coordinator/LB
  • RICE – Marques Tuiasosopo, Offensive Coordinator/QB
  • RUTGERS – Joe Harasymiak, Defensive Coordinator
  • SAN JOSE STATE – Josh Oglesby, Offensive Line/RG
  • SMU – Scott Symons, Defensive Coordinator
  • TENNESSEE – Tim Banks, Defensive Coordinator
  • TEXAS – Pete Kwiatkowski, Defensive Coordinator/OLB
  • TEXAS STATE – Mack Leftwich, Offensive Coordinator
  • TEXAS TECH – Kenny Perry, Assoc. Head Coach/Special Teams/RB
  • TOLEDO – Mike Hallett, Co-Offensive Coordinator/OL
  • TROY – Greg Gasparato – Defensive Coordinator / S
  • TULANE – Shiel Wood, Defensive Coordinator/LB
  • UAB – Alex Mortensen, Offensive Coordinator
  • UCLA – D’Anton Lynn, Defensive Coordinator
  • UNLV – Brennan Marion, Offensive Coordinator
  • UTAH – Morgan Scalley, Defensive Coordinator/S
  • UTAH STATE – Kyle Cefalo, Co-Offensive Coordinator/WR
  • UTSA – Jess Loepp, Defensive Coordinator/S
  • WASHINGTON – Ryan Grubb, Offensive Coordinator
  • WEST VIRGINIA – Matt Moore, Offensive Line


A selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, broadcasters and a committee representing the FWAA will select 15 semi-finalists, five finalists from the list of nominees, and an overall winner.

The 2022 Broyles Award winner was Garrett Riley, who was the offensive coordinator at TCU. Riley is now the offensive coordinator at Clemson University. Previous winners are not eligible to be nominated for the Broyles Award until the completion of three seasons.

The Broyles Award is presented by Oaklawn, Hot Springs, Arkansas. Proceeds from the 2023 Broyles Award support the Broyles Foundation’s mission to provide a game plan for Alzheimer’s caregivers through education, support, and resources. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on Facebook, X and Instagram.


About the Broyles Award

The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his hall of fame career as head coach at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on Facebook, X and Instagram.

About the National College Football Awards Association

The Broyles Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. The NCFAA’s 25 awards have honored more than 800 recipients since 1935. Visit for more information.

About the Football Writers Association of America The Football Writers Association of America, founded in 1941, consists of 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-American team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at [email protected].

About Oaklawn Located in Hot Springs National Park, Arkansas, Oaklawn is one of the premiere Thoroughbred racetracks in the country since 1904, best known as home of the Arkansas Derby. Oaklawn holds live racing from Dec 8, 2023 to May 4, 2024 and simulcast racing throughout the year.


  • David Bazzel

Founder, Broyles Award

(501) 258-8315 [email protected]

  • Molly Harrell

Executive Director, Broyles Award & Foundation

(479) 313-4195 [email protected]