Selection Committee Narrows List to 5

For Immediate Release

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (December 22, 2020) – The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation is pleased to announce the five finalists for the 2020 Broyles Award, which honors college football’s top assistant coaches. The finalists were selected from a group of 15 semi-finalists by a selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, broadcasters, and a committee representing the FWAA.

The five finalists are:

ALABAMA, Steve Sarkisian, Offensive Coordinator / QB

BYU, Jeff Grimes, Offensive Coordinator, BYU

CINCINNATI, Marcus Freeman, Defensive Coordinator / LB

INDIANA, Kane Wommack, Defensive Coordinator / LB

NORTHWESTERN, Mike Hankwitz, Defensive Coordinator


The winner of the Broyles Award will be announced, live at 11:55am on KATV – however that is properly written—and through the Broyles Award website and social media channels on Monday, December 28th.


Visit the Broyles Award website for the full list of previous finalists and winners.


Proceeds from the 2020 Broyles Award support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to provide a game plan for Alzheimer’s caregivers through education, support, and resources all at no cost. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.




About the Broyles Award

The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his hall of fame career at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.


About the National College Football Awards Association

The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 699 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.


About the Football Writers Association of America

The Football Writers Association of America, founded in 1941, consists of 1,300 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game-day operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at [email protected].



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Explore Other Posts: