2019 Broyles Award – Press Release 8-29

Broyles Award to Honor Nation’s Top Assistant Coaches in High School Football

Also expands collegiate selection committee with ESPN’s Desmond Howard & Maria Taylor

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – [Aug 29, 2019] The Broyles Award announced today it will now recognize the nation’s top assistant coaches in high school football, adding to their 24-year tradition of honoring the top assistant coaches in college football. Beginning this year, the Broyles Award, along with presenting sponsor Riceland Foods, plans to recognize one high school assistant coach from every state.

“My grandfather would be so pleased to know his name and remarkable coaching legacy was being extended to the high school level,” Molly Arnold, Broyles Foundation Executive Director. “His most coveted assistant at Arkansas, Wilson Matthews, was an outstanding high school coach. Coach Mathews was his first hire at Arkansas and was chosen 24 years ago by Coach Broyles to be featured alongside him on the prestigious Broyles Award statue that is presented each year to the winner.”

Three states were selected to inaugurate the first year of the High School Broyles Award; Arkansas, Texas and Alabama. Based on the 2018 season, the 2019 winners include:

  • Doc Crowley (Arkansas), offensive coordinator, Boonveville High School
  • Bert Newton (Alabama), defensive coordinator, Hartselle High School
  • Casey Pearce (Texas), defensive coordinator, Longview High School

Each winner will attend and be recognized at the collegiate Broyles Award ceremony in Little Rock, Arkansas on December 10.

“It’s a huge undertaking and Riceland Foods is proud to support the Broyles Award in honoring the hard work of outstanding college and high school assistant coaches across America. Assistant coaches have a tremendous impact on young athletes, we’re extremely excited to recognize and highlight their work,” said Ben Noble, Riceland Vice President of Marketing & Sales.

To honor Coach Broyles’ legacy commentating on ABC Sports, the Broyles Award has added two national broadcasters to their collegiate selection committee, ESPN College Game Day’s Desmond Howard and Maria Taylor, who is the first female voter for the Award. They join the prestigious committee that includes over fifteen college football Hall of Fame coaches and fifteen members of the Football Writers Association of America.

You can follow The Broyles Foundation on Facebook and Twitter and Instagram.



About the Broyles Award

The Broyles Award was created in 1996 recognizing Coach Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants during his almost two decades as head coach at Arkansas. You can follow the Broyles Award on Facebook and Twitter.

About Riceland Foods

Riceland Foods served as the presenting sponsor of the 2018 Broyles Award. Riceland is the world’s largest miller and marketer of rice with its products sold across the nation and to more than 75 foreign destinations. Riceland believes that rice should do good. Since 1921, our family farmers have been growing quality and nutritious rice while minding the land and our communities to provide you with good, healthy meals. We care for both the rice and the land by utilizing the latest research and technology to assist growers with sustainable practices. And by putting care into everything we do, you get quality in everything we serve. With our co-op structure, our farmers are our owners. Each grain is proudly grown in the rich soils of the United States. That means when you buy Riceland rice, you’re feeding more than just your family. You’re feeding 5,500 farmers and their families, too. #unitedwegrow

Contact Us:                                                                                           

David Bazzel

Executive Director, Broyles Award

(501) 258-8315


Molly Harrell

Executive Director, The Broyles Foundation

(479) 313-4195



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Explore Other Posts: