SINCE 1996

Presented By

2023 winners

Click here to see the HSBA Winners for 2023! Thank you to all participating state associations, schools, and coaches!

In 2018, the Broyles Award added to their 25-year tradition of honoring the nation’s best collegiate assistant football coaches through the creation of the High School Broyles Award. This award recognizes the top high school assistant football coach in every participating state, projecting their excellence onto the national stage.


Subscribe to the Official HSBA Podcast, where we interview past high school winners to learn more about coaching excellence!



Affiliate submission and winner announcement dates for the 2024 Season.


Find all HSBA sign-up forms here!


See winners from all affiliated states from 2018-Present.


“I have always enjoyed following the past winners of the Broyles Award, and to be a small part of that is incredible. I cannot thank you and the Broyles family enough. This [award] is something I will cherish forever.”
"It was more than a once in a lifetime experience - in 25 years of coaching - there was never a thought in my mind I would be honored like that for what I do. You are acknowledging something that simply does not get noticed at the high school level - I am humbled...Being a part of the Broyles Award is the greatest experience of my professional life."
Jeff Sabatino
Amherst HS, Amherst, NY
“The prestigious Broyles Award is the ultimate compliment not only due to the company of its past recipients, but because it reflects the incredible efforts of an exemplary coaching staff and remarkable players. I am humbled and honored to receive this honor.”
Tony Salazar
Westlake HS, Austin , TX

When making the decision which of his former assistants would be featured in bronze beside him on the Broyles Award trophy, Frank Broyles had some notable options. Barry Switzer, Joe Gibbs, Jimmy Johnson, Johnny Majors, Haden Fry, Raymond Berry and Jackie Sherrill were just a few of the 25 former Broyles’ assistants that later became head coaches.

But without hesitation, Broyles’ choice was Wilson Matthews. Matthews, Broyles’ first assistant coach hire at Arkansas, was a legend in Arkansas high school football leading the Central Tigers to 10 state titles in 11 years, a 111-14-3 record including a 33-game winning streak and fresh off the mythical national high school championship in 1957.

He remained in at Arkansas until 1968, helping the Hogs capture a National Championship in 1964 and make 8 bowl game appearances. Regarded by his high school and collegiate players as fierce-yet-loved and by Coach Broyles as his most loyal and trusted assistant, Matthews was the role model of the perfect assistant coach.

Today, the Broyles Award continues to celebrate the vital relationship between Head and Assistant Coaches, a lineage traced back over sixty years of excellence in coaching. It also celebrate Broyles’s legacy off the field by supporting the Broyles Foundation, which provides game plans for Alzheimer’s caregivers in crisis.