SINCE 1996


Since 1996, the Broyles Award has maintained a strong relationship with the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA).

Coach Broyles’s relationship with the FWAA dates back to 1964, when they awarded him the Grantland Rice trophy for Arkansas’s National Championship win.

Today, the Broyles Award Selection Committee includes 27 national sports writers and broadcasters. These writers collaborate with our coaching committee members to curate and select the list of finalists and winners for each year’s award. The Broyles Award is a proud member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), the premier organization for collegiate football awards.

Keith Jackson and Frank Broyles (1976)


Andrea Adelson (ACC)

Bob Asmussen

Champaign News Gazette

Nicole Auerbach

The Athletic

Zach Barnett

Football Scoop

Mark Blaudschun

The Media Guides (ACC)

Travis Brown

The Eagle

Chip Brown

Peter Burns

Chuck Carlton

Dallas Morning News

Chris Childers

Michael Cohen

Brian Davis

Austin American Statesman (Big 12)

Ross Dellenger

Sports Illustrated (SEC, National)

Heather Dinich


Dennis Dodd

CBS Sports

Matt Fortuna

The Athletic

Mike Griffith

Dawg Nation (SEC)

Wally Hall

AR Democrat-Gazette

Shehan Jeyarajah

Dave Jones

PA Media Group (Big 10)

Barrett Jones

ESPN (SEC, National)

Jason Kersey

The Athletic

Laken Litman

Ivan Maisel

Ryan Mcgee

Brett McMurphy

Action Network (national)

Malcom Moran

Sports Capital Journalism Program

JD Pickle

David Pollack

George Schroeder

USA Today

Matt Sign

National Football Foundation

Tony Siracusa

Last Word on College Football (Pac-12, west)

Ayokunle Spencer

Sports Radio America (American Conference)

Phil Steele

Phil Steele Magazine

Ryan Thorburn

Casper Star-Tribune (Mountain West)

David Ubben

The Athletic

Chris Vannini

The Athletic

Jon Wilner

San Jose Mercury News

RJ Young

Matt Zenitz